5 thoughts on “How are diamond rings graded?”

  1. Standards such as carat, color, clarity, cut and fluorescence of diamonds are the focus of attention when buying diamonds. Each standard can be divided into different levels

    carat weight – it depends on the size directly

    Diamond Color: it is classified by transparency. The higher the transparency level, the lower the yellowing level

    internationally, diamond color grades are divided by English letters, starting from D, followed by E, F, G, h, I, J, etc., decreasing in turn

    clarity of diamonds - the purity is used to divide the grade. The cleaner the grade, the higher the grade, and vice versa

    the diamond cleanliness grades from high to low are: FL (flawless), if (internal flawless), VVS minor flaws (vvs1, VVS2), vs minor inclusions (VS1, VS2), Si minor flaws (SI1, SI2), and I inclusions (I1, I2, I3)

    diamond cut

    the cut grade of diamonds is divided into ideal cut, very good cut, good cut, general cut and poor cut. Generally, the better the cut, the more shiny the diamond looks

    good, average, poor

  2. Mainly 4C:
    Color: diamonds have a variety of natural colors, ranging from precious colorless (white after cutting and grinding), rare light blue, pink to yellowish. It is divided into 11 levels, in order: D, e, F, G, h, I, J, K, l, m and n
    clarity: generally, 10 times magnifying glass is used to subdivide the clarity level of non embedded diamonds into 10 levels: LC, vvs1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, P1, P2 and P3
    cutting: the brilliant brilliance of diamonds is attributed to its unique high refractive index and high dispersion performance. The cutting level is divided into: very good, good and average
    weight: the weight of diamonds is calculated in carats (also known as carats). 1 pull = 200 mg = 0.2 G. As the weight of diamonds increases, their value increases exponentially
    the above is a summary of the classification of diamonds by kleidi.

  3. The diamond ring is divided into five grades. The diamond ring grades from high to low are LC, VVS, vs, Si and P. this only refers to the cleanliness grade of the diamond ring grade
    when choosing a diamond ring, you must know how to distinguish the grade of a diamond ring. When distinguishing the grade of a diamond ring, you should pay attention to the following aspects:
    clarity: from high to low, there are five grades: LC, VVS, vs, Si and P. LC grade is generally rare
    Color: from high to low, there are five grades: extreme white, excellent white, white, light yellow white and light yellow. Generally, white and light yellow white are the main colors
    weight: the unit of weight is carat (CT). 1 carat = 0.2 g = 100 points. Generally, diamond grade shall be indicated when the score is more than 10 points

    cutting: generally, cutting is not evaluated for inlaid diamonds. The fluorescence of diamonds has nothing to do with the grade of diamonds, but is only one of the evidences to ensure that the certificate corresponds to diamonds

    however, most consumers still don't know much about the grade of diamond rings, such as "how to choose suitable diamond ornaments" and "how to distinguish the quality of diamonds". Some unscrupulous merchants also take advantage of people's ignorance of diamonds, often evasive when being consulted, and arbitrarily exaggerate the grade of diamond rings, so as to mislead consumers and make consumers suffer unnecessary losses
    when consumers ask about the grade of diamonds, many merchants use vague concepts such as "excellent grade" and "high quality". In fact,
    among the four standards of diamonds, the weight is expressed in carats; Cleanliness is expressed in LC, WS, vs, Si, etc; Cutting is generally expressed by "very good, good". The correct expression is: a 0.15 carat diamond with good cutting, vs. excellent white, and there is no "excellent" or "high-quality" diamond.

  4. The classification of diamond rings is determined by 4C. That is:
    cut, clarity, color and weight
    evaluation of cutting grade
    according to China's diamond grading standards, diamond cutting is divided into three grades: very good, good and average
    evaluation of cleanliness grade,
    generally, the interior and exterior of diamonds are observed with a 10 times magnifying glass. The cleanliness grade of diamonds is subdivided into FL, if, vvs1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, L1, L2, L3.
    GIA divides jewelry into 23 grades, D, e, F, G, h, I, J, K, l, m, N, O, P, Q, R, s, t, u, V, W, x, y, Z The best color is D, the more forward the better, close to colorless and transparent. The more yellow and lower the level. D-f is transparent and colorless, g-j is nearly colorless, K-M is yellowish, N-R is light yellow, and S-Z is yellow. N-Z belongs to the color diamond range. Of course, there are other colors, such as pink, green and blue

  5. The GIA color classification established by Gemstone Institute of America is generally used to distinguish colorless series diamonds. The more transparent and colorless the diamond is, the more precious it is. The diamond closer to Z is uneven in composition, poor in fire color, relatively inferior, and lower in value. According to the classification of the diamond color grade table, it can be seen that the more transparent and colorless the diamond is, the more precious the diamond is, and the more close to Z, the diamond is uneven in composition, poor in fire color, and relatively inferior. Grade D diamonds are completely transparent and colorless. They are still excellent in the colorless series of diamonds. The lower the diamond, the lower the diamond will be distinguished according to the color of the diamond. Grade e diamonds are almost colorless. Level F is that only a small number of colors can be detected. In the diamond color grade table, the closer the letter is to the diamond of Z, the lower the grade is.

Leave a Comment